top of page

Final Blog: lots of finals...until next time


Thank you

A final session of calling, final numbers dialled, final conversations enjoyed and final donations in…it seems strange to me that tomorrow evening won’t be spent in the call room with this group of people whom I have gradually come to know and enjoy spending time with! It also seems strange to me that the next few calls I make will be to familiar numbers, that they won’t be made with a proper phone and handset but from my mobile, and most probably on speed dial!

Yet I have certainly enjoyed my evenings of calling in the Leslie Stephen Room at Trinity Hall. I have had some incredibly interesting conversations, some surprising anecdotes, many memorable stories and a few funny jokes told to me over the phone! After hearing tales of diverse paths taken by individuals, I have changed – and changed again! – my own career choices several times over, and have benefitted from some insightful experience and learned advice too! Yet most of all I have enjoyed hearing the tales of others’ experiences of Trinity Hall, of their undergraduate life here, of their time spent similarly punting along the River Cam – something I did only a few days ago! – or reading in the old library – where a new modern one of 1998 now juts out over the riverbank – or having their beds made by the bedder (!) or breaking into May Balls…! It is so nice to hear the legacies of our college and know that the fun and fantastic experiences still continue and will continue in the future too: different and individual of course but still similar and sharing the strand of Trinity Hall College at their central heart.

We ended that final calling session with a prize-giving ceremony as Easter eggs rewarded creative title such as ‘most numbers dialled’, ‘most detailed notes’, ‘most voicemails listened to’, ‘most likely to talk to someone in the bath!’ Taking home my chocolate prize for later indulgence, I left the call room with a smile etched on my face in memory of the fun times spent there and the interesting calls I’d had, and in anticipation of the Easter break to come!

bottom of page